Parole - Pardon Boards

Parole Board

North Dakota Parole Board Mission

The mission of the Board is to conduct informed and fair hearings on cases subject to the jurisdiction of the Board and take appropriate action to ensure public and victim safety and to reduce the likelihood of future criminal behavior of people by providing opportunities for rehabilitation.

The members of the North Dakota Parole Board are appointed by the Governor for a term of three years. During the Fifty-Sixth Legislative Assembly the Parole Board was expanded from three to six members, three serve at each monthly parole board meeting. The members are as follows:

Mr. H. Patrick Weir

Mr. Keith Witt
Ms. Rachel Bruner
Mr. Jackson Lofgren
Dr. Carmelita Lamb
Ms. Darla DesLauriers



Parole Board Meeting Dates for 2020
January 7-8
February 4-5
March 3-4
April 7-8
May 5-6
June 2-3
July 7-8
August 4-5
September 1-2
October 6-7
November 3-4
December 1-2
Pardon Advisory Board

The Pardon Advisory Board became effective on August 1, 1997. Prior to that the board was known as the Pardon Board.

The Pardon Advisory Board with concurrence of the governor has the authority to grant the following: Commutation, Conditional Pardon, Pardon, Remission of fine and a Reprieve.
The Pardon Advisory Board makes recommendations to the governor, and any action taken is not official until signed by the governor. 
The Pardon Advisory Board is not an administrative agency as defined by the NDCC, and is not subject to the Administrative Agencies Practice Act.

The governor appoints the board members, but by statute the Attorney General is one of the five members, as are two members of the Parole Board. The other two members are appointed at large. At the present time the board members are:

  • Wayne Stenehjem, Attorney General
  • H. Patrick Weir, Chairman of Pardon Advisory Board
  • Jennifer Thompson
  • Dr. Carmelita Lamb
  • Bev Adams

The Pardon Advisory Board meets two times a year (April and November).

All applications must be complete, including all required documents, and submitted 90 Days Prior to the meeting dates.

The Pardon Advisory Board Meeting Dates for the year 2020 are:

April 14th  (postponed to July 9th),  and November 10th.


Submission deadlines are:  January 16,2020 and August 12, 2020

Cases eligible for Pardon Advisory Board review are individuals who have committed a crime and were convicted in a North Dakota court of law.  (Excludes federal offenses, traffic offense and tribal offenses.)  
For more information, review policy or contact Steve Hall at 701-328-6712

  1. Adults in the DOCR custody (inmates) or on parole or probation supervision with the DOCR.
  2. Adults in the DOCR custody who have no legal remedy through the Parole Board may be eligible for review by the Pardon Advisory Board providing that review does not conflict with any provisions of the policy.
  3. Persons not in the custody of, or under the supervision of the DOCR.
  4. The applicant must have encountered a significant problem with the consequences of the conviction or sentence (e.g. inability to obtain or maintain licensures or certifications necessary for employment.)
  5. In very limited circumstances, the Board may consider applications from individuals who present a compelling need for relief as a result of unusual circumstances not otherwise specified in the above eligibility criteria.
  6. Persons prosecuted for and convicted of possession of marijuana, ingestion of marijuana, and possession of marijuana paraphernalia who have not had any convictions in the past 5 years may submit a Summary Pardon Application. .

Complete the  Pardon Advisory Board application  or the Summary Pardon Board application (for Eligible Marijuana Offenses).

Include a copy of the criminal judgment and criminal information or complaint for each offense for which you seek relief. You must obtain these documents by contacting the clerk of district court in the jurisdiction in which your conviction occurred, these documents are not available to the public on the internet.

Submit all documents 90 days prior to each board by either mail to the address below, fax 701-328-6780 or email

Clerk, Pardon Advisory Board,
Division of Adult Services
P.O. Box 1898,
Bismarck, ND. 58502-1898

Correspondence to the Parole Board